DUI & DMV Class C Commercial Drivers License

To be eligible for a Commercial Driver's License in California, a Class C Applicant must reside in California and be in good standing with the DMV. A commercial driver's eligibility for Class C Licensing is disqualified if he or she has committed a traffic violation or crime which resulted in cancellation, suspension or revocation of their driving privileges while operating a noncommercial vehicle.

The California DMV automatically disqualifies any driver for a commercial license who has commissioned any motor vehicle, commercial or noncommercial, while committing a felony crime.

A California resident will be disqualified for commercial licensing eligibility for 4 months if convicted of a serious traffic offense while operating a commercial OR noncommercial vehicle if the violation occurred within 36 months of two or more other serious traffic offenses.

A commercial license will also be denied by the California DMV if:


DUI and / or operating a noncommercial vehicle with a BAC at or above .08%

DUI involving injury or causing bodily harm while driving with a BAC at or above the legal limit

Operating a commercial vehicle, or CMV, with a BAC of .04% or above

Causing bodily harm or injury while operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .04% or higher

Refusal to submit to a chemical test when requested by a Peace Officer

The licensee is convicted of a serious traffic offense while operating any vehicle or vessel if two or more separate serious traffic offense occurred within a rolling three year period

Additional Class C Commercial License Regulations


Prohibits the violation of any out-of-service order and / or failure or refusal to comply with out-of-service orders issued by the US Secretary of the Department of Transportation. The fine imposed on a commercial licensee for violating an out-of-service order will be no less than $1000 and up to $2,750.

Makes it unlawful to operate a commercial vehicle or vessel for a period of 6 months if the commercial licensee is convicted of an out-of-service driving violation while operating a 15 passenger capacity or greater vehicle or vessel or in the course of hazardous material transport. In the event of a second conviction for a similar offense, the licensing penalty term will be extended to three years.

Makes it unlawful for any other state to issue a standard, temporary, or provisional Commercial Driver's License to any driver whose non-commercial drivers license has been revoked, suspended, or terminated.

Prohibits licensing authorities from granting a restricted commercial drivers license to any driver whose driving privileges were otherwise suspended for DUI in a noncommercial vehicle.

Prohibits licensing authorities from granting a restricted commercial drivers license to any driver whose driving privileges were otherwise suspended for driving uninsured at the of an accident or collision a non-commercial vehicle, although at the discretion of the court, a restricted commercial drivers license may be issued.

Disallows a commercial licensee from attending a court approved driving school, traffic offender school, or any other driver's safety course as an alternative to any traffic violation incurred while driving a commercial vehicle.

Disallows a commercial licensee from attending a court approved driving school, traffic offender school, or any other driver's safety course as an alternative to any traffic violation incurred while driving a commercial vehicle.

Regulations for Employers of Commercial Drivers

Authorize the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Authority to transmit cause for disqualifying a commercial driver's license and notating the sanction on the licensee's driving record.

Makes it unlawful for any employer to knowingly permit a driver to operate a motor vehicle while the the vehicle, driver, or carrier is under out-of-service status.

Enforces civil punishment upon any employer found guilty of allowing operation of vehicles or drivers while subject to an out-of-service order.



G. Cole Casey is THE top DUI Defense Lawyer in San Diego County. His practice is dedicated exclusively to the defense of persons charged with DUI, DWI and Drunk Driving in Southern California.

Call us twenty-four hours a day at 619.237.0384 or send us an email now to discuss an aggressive and legitimate defense strategy for your DUI case.






San Diego DUI Attorney G. Cole Casey     2550 Fifth Avenue, Suite 815     San Diego, CA 92103    Phone: 619.237.0384